Beginner Exercises

Pages: 1... 111213141516
closed account (S6k9GNh0)
Static class variables create a static variable shared by all of the class instances. It doesn't recreate the variable for each object. There is absolutely no reason to read in the file each time a bunny is made. That comment is fine. The reason it's part of the class (and private at that) is to prevent anyone outside of Game from using it. This is more or less a guide line for myself.

http://codepad.org/x0FIB01E

@bMutantRadioactiveVampireBunny variable: That's why the comment "Don't do this at home" is there. It's more of a joke, but it does apply.

Almost anything I code can normally be justified to some extent. I will take any suggestions but saying things like, "WTF!?!" isn't exactly productive. Please provide alternatives and I'll will try them out and weigh out the differences.

Until then, I'm still studying decent ways to provide logging and then afterwards, I'll grab a curses implementation and try to code this to work in a grid. That'll be fun. :D

EDIT2: @Funky comment: I actually switched gender from the identifier of sex. My laptop has this issue where if I hover my finger over the pad, it will click and drag so I'll occasionally find strange compiler errors where I'll find half a word placed in some random place. Thank god for whoever came up with the Undo feature.
Last edited on
The reason it's part of the class (and private at that) is to prevent anyone outside of Game from using it.

Actually, I don't think it should be static, since if I create several games, they shouldn't all be using the same vector. They should all have different vectors.
That would use an intense amount of excessive memory. If each bunny were to have its own vector, that's each file loaded into memory however many bunnies are made.