Why is this entering an infinite loop?

Super super beginner here! Trying out loops etc. See my code below. If the user enters a character, the program enters an infinite loop. Why? I know it's not the correct variable type, but surely it'd just put the ASCII code into the int variable?

#include <iostream>

int main()
{
    using namespace std;
    int userSelection = 0;
    bool validSelection = true;

do
    {
        cout << "1. New Project" << endl << "2. Open Exisiting Project" << endl << "Make a Selection: ";
        cin >> userSelection;
        if (userSelection != 1 && userSelection != 2)
            validSelection = false;
            cout << "Invalid Selection" << endl;
    } while (validSelection == false);
    cout << "Good choice";
    return 0;
}

On line 15 you change validSelection to false, but you never change it back.
Hence the loop ends immediate or not at all.
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/5864540/a-simple-question-about-cin

Your cin is meant to accept ints, not strings or chars. Going against that puts cin into a fail state. Because of that your cin is not accepting any more prompts until that's fixed.
Between lines 11 and 12 add validSelection = true;
At the end of line 14 add {
Between lines 16 and 17 add }
closed account (3qX21hU5)
As Olysold said when you enter a char or string it put the stream (cin) into a error state because you variable is meant to accept int (whole numbers) only.

You will need to correct the streams state in order to clear the infinite loop. This is actually a quite common error checking procedure. Here is how it can be done.

{
            validSelection = false;
            cout << "Invalid Selection. Please enter it again." << endl;

// Clears the streams error state.
            cin.clear();

// Cleans up all the extra characters in the stream
            cin.ignore(std::numeric_limits<std::streamsize>::max(), '\n');

// Get the user input again.
            cin >> userSelection;
        }