struct, class or global variables?

Hi,
This is more a question of how to approach a problem rather than a difficulty with specific code. I'm pretty new to c++ and am trying to test what I've learned by building a simple console game.

Anyway, I have some variables that I will need to access from many places in the code, but I only need one of each. This sounds like a job for global variables but is it worth building a struct to give each a definite address? Also as structs are basically limited classes, is it worth using a class instead?

Sorry if this is a little vague. I get the feeling there is no right answer, but would like to hear some opinions and reasons for them.
Global:
int a = 1;
double b = 0.5;

double foo() {
  return a * b;
}

int main() {
  double d = foo();
}

Struct:
struct Bar {
  int a;
  double b;
  Bar( int, double );
};

double foo( const Bar & c ) {
  return c.a * c.b;
}

int main() {
  Bar p( 42, 0.3 );
  double d = foo( p );
}

With struct you can somewhat limit on who can access the parameters, but you have to pass the struct into the functions. You have better control over the lifetime of the data too (initialization and destruction of globals is beyond main). A class is a struct, but with different default access rule.
I would recommend using global variables, if you're just representing simple things such as levels or money. You would want to keep the code clean and not go and create structs and classes for things that only hold one value. If your game is more advanced with enemies that have their own stats, etc, then it would be better to use structs to organize the variables. It all depends on what the variables are used for.
Globals are almost always the wrong solution.

If you write your code to use global variables, then your code only works with global variables. Whereas if you write your code to use parameters that are passed to it, it can work on any variable.