Game Over

Im New To C++ And When I Open The File The Window Just Opens And Closes. Ive Been Told To use pause but i dont know where to use it in my code HELP

#include<iostream>

int main()
{
std::cout <<"Game Over!"<<std::endl;
return 0;

}

Last edited on
Write it like this :

#include <iostream>
#include <windows.h>

int main()
{
    std::cout <<"Game Over!"<<std::endl;
    system("pause");
    return 0;
}
Last edited on
no don't use system("pause")
use something like cin.get(); cin.clear(); cin.ignore();

ps it is a sticky topic at the very top probably should of read first =p.

http://cplusplus.com/forum/beginner/1988/
I agree with giblit but the only reason i wrote it is that he asked for it specifically .
@BaseRev

is windows.h really necessary? As far as I know std::system is a C++ function that communicates with the terminal at hand. I do not run windows, would you mind trying? I am interested? For me using xterm on Linux mint x64:

#include <cstdlib>
#include <iostream>

int main()
{
    std::cout << "We will not see this string for long!\n";
    std::system("clear");
    std::getchar();
}

clears correctly without including linux headers.
no you can't use std::sytem and I have never heard of it being part of the std class and when I am on linux I don't need to use std::system it's just system() and windows.h is required on windos for anything that uses the windows api I am pretty sure of
@Bourgond

Yes,it is necessary. I don't know about Linux but on windows you must include "windows.h".
But I am curious though c++ STL is supposed to be standard so how can it has a function on Linux but not on windows ?

It worked. windows.h isn't necessary and you can use std::system on windows.Thanks for the new info !!
Last edited on
BaseRev wrote:
Yes,it is necessary. I don't know about Linux but on windows you must include "windows.h".