Need Word Scramble advice

I am very new to C++ and programming in general, I am not looking for anyone to post actual code. I have worked through several books and tutorials. I want to create a word scramble that displays a scrambled word and as a hint the word definition. The program is also going to difficulty based (easy, normal, hard) with approx 500 words for each difficulty. I believe using header files would be the best way to go. 1 for each difficulty as well as 1 for the algorithm to select and scramble the words - so 5 header files. Is this assumption correct? I also am not sure the best method for implementing each list, but I am considering using enum.

I appreciate any offered advice or links that might assist in my endeavors.
Last edited on
Have you considered storing the dictionaries in a file?
closed account (ypfz3TCk)
If I were doing this I would break the problem down to simplify it and then solve each part step by step.

For example:
1. first write a simple program that takes user input of a word & then it scrambles it and outputs the scrambled word. Once you get that to work, you know that you have working code that will scramble the word input.
2. Next I would write a program that can read a file containing words. The program then scrambles each word and outputs a file containing the scrambled words.

I would not worry about the difficulty level until i got the program working. It should be a lot easier then once you get the core of the program right

Once you get that done you could then write a program that goes through a file containing the scrambled words and gets user input to 'guess' what that scrambled word really is.