Euler Project Problem #3

Pages: 12
Hello!
I've been trying to solve problem number 3 of the "Euler Project", which basically is to find the largest prime factor of 600851475143, but my code does not seem to be working. The program just runs, but nothing gets written at all, and it gives me no errors. If you could help me with solving this problem, and tell me what was wrong with my code, I would be very grateful :) EDIT: Maybe I've let the computer run through too many numbers, and that is why it does not write anything?

#include <iostream>
#include <math.h>
using namespace std;

int main(){
    double z = 600851475143, greatprime = 0;
    for(double x = 2; x < z; x++){
        if(fmod(z,x) == 0){
            greatprime = x;
        }
    }
    cout << greatprime;
}
Last edited on
set double x to 1 instead of 2 and see what happens.
nope I think I see it. try
double z = 600851475143;
double greatprime = 0;

greatprime might not be a double.

Im new at this.
Last edited on
...why are you even using type double? It's completely unnecessary. Also, your program does not write anything because it is going to take a very long time to reach 600 billion. Try creating a list of primes as you go, then not check any number that isn't prime in itself. Also, there's no need to go up to more than half of z- everything past that will not divide in by definition.
I tried it, but the program still does not output anything. Not even the usual lines of code it always runs in the end (of my programs):

"Process returned 0 (0x0) execution time : bla bla
Press any key to continue."
As has been indicated, your algorithm is going to take a very long time to complete. And besides that -- it's wrong. It will find the largest factor. It will not find the largest prime factor.
Also, because your program isn't actually checking if the number is prime, you've created a simple counter, with a few unnecessary steps in-between counting. In short, your computer is trying to count to 600 billion.