How to preapre a C++ Program to login with the password after saving it to the Computer

closed account (jNhkoG1T)
Hi friends,

I am new to C++ programming without having any previous experience in programming in any another language. So guys, please help me out! :(

>> I am going to prepare a C++ program that first takes the
Name, Username and password
(Each character must be replaced by "*" at the same time) from the user.

>> After the everything is taken, the Login page will be displayed to the user where when he/she logins with username and password, it will display "Welcome <Name>" where <Name> will be replaced by the name after the registration.

TO PROPERLY ELABORATE WHATEVER I SAID, HERE'S AN EXAMPLE:

# First Page:-
Enter your name: John Bill
Enter your user name: john12
Enter your password: *******        //E.g. - passkey 

#Second Page:-
Enter your username: john12
Enter your password: ********

>> WELCOME JOHN!

Actually I am facing many problems while coding. Even, I am facing problem in the
DATA FILE HANDLING
concepts that will be used in the program.

Please help me friends, and please post the full source code compatible with Turbo C++ either v.3.0 or v.4.5 !

GUYS, PLEASE DON'T FORGET TO WRITE THE FULL SOURCE CODE AS I AM A TOTAL NOVICE IN PROGRAMMING. :P

Your help will be further appreciated!

Thanks, in advance! :)
Last edited on
Replacing input with another character is somewhat dificult in the console world.
Well the you could use the non-standard library conio. Then use some sort of loop getting getting each character entered and appending that to the end of the "password" string and at the same time outputting an asterisk.

#include <iostream>
#include <string>
#include <conio.h>

int main()
{
    std::string password( "" );
    char temp;

std::cout << "Please enter your password -> " << std::flush;
    while( static_cast<int>( temp = getch() ) != 13 )
    {
        password += temp;
        std::cout << '*' << std::flush;
    }