sizeof operator machine dependent?

Hi all,
I am a beginner in C++ and I have a doubt regarding the memory system.

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;
int main(){
    cout << sizeof(int) << endl;
}

The above code gives the output 4 in codeblocks in my system. But when I use turboC++ Compiler(yeah, I know it is very old), then this gives the output of 2.
Why this happens? As far as I know, the memory to be allocated is machine dependent, not compiler dependent.

Thanks in advance,
-Himansh
Last edited on
It is implementation defined, as the standard would say, meaning it depends on the C++ implementation (the compiler).
sizeof operator machine dependent?

The sizeof operator isn't, in itself, machine dependent (or rather, as Peter87 says, implementation dependent.) But the size of an int, is.

And Turbo C++ is a 16-bit compiler, so it works with 16-bit ints. So when you ask it how big an int is, it says 2 bytes (i.e. 16 bits).

Turbo C++ is, as you say, an old, old compiler (orig. release was 1990); it was aimed at (16-bit) DOS and the old Windows (e.g. Windows 3.1) 16-bit O/S.

When you run an app you compiled with Turbo C++ on a modern Windows system, you're not actually running it directly on the system. Instead it's been run by WOW (Windows on Windows), the 16-bit compatibility layer.

Code::Blocks, on the other hand, usually works (on Windows) with the MinGW version of GCC, which can be either the 32-bit or 64-bit version of the compiler. Both use 32-bit ints. (A 64-bit compiler could work with 64-bit ints, but this isn't usually done.)

16-bit case:
- int is 16-bit (same as a short), long is 32-bit, near pointers are 16-bit, and far pointers are 32-bit (the FAR macro means something when you're compiling for 16-bit systems.)

32-bit case:
- int, long and pointers are all 32-bit.

64-bit case
- for 64-bit Linux : long and pointers are 64-bit but int is 32-bit.
- for 64-bit Windows : long long and pointers are 64-bit but long and int are both 32-bit.