K-expression calculator

I am new to C++ and my teacher told me to write a program about a"K-expression calculator". That means:

Sample Input 1:
3 + 4
Sample Output 1:

Sample Input 2:
6.9 * 7
Sample Output 2:

Sample Input 3:
9 / 6
Sample Output 3:

Please help me with my code. Thanks a lot! :)

I don't know what a K-expression is, but it looks like you just need to write a program that reads a double, an operator (char), and another double, performs the operation on them, and prints the output.

You need to try yourself before you'll get much more help. Post your code if you get stuck.

Good luck!
Sorry I made a mistake. Cross out Sample 2. The question requires me to input 2 positive integers. But I don't know about how to determine whether a number is an integer or double. Please help me with this part. Thanks! :)
@ Sakudo
Do not have a programming book? Many advanced guys, here, recommend this book: C++ Primer 5th Edition. I have it...It's really, amazing!
Last edited on

But I don't know about how to determine whether a number is an integer or double.

Simply put, an 'int' variable is a whole number of type -1, 0 ,1 ,2. A double is a double precision floating number (meaning that it can hold decimals with great precision) I.E 2.1234512512.

Keep in mind that it is a simple explanation. The two have a set amount that they can maximally store. Since some of the results in the sample use decimals, I would suggest using a double.

int main(){
    double num1,num2;
    double result=0;
    char operation;
    cout<<"Enter operation (+, -, *, /): ";
    cin>>operation;
    switch(operation){

case '+':
        cout<<"Enter first number: ";
        cin>>num1;
        cout<<"Enter second number: ";
        cin>>num2;
        result=num1+num2;
        break;
    case '-':
        cin>>num1;
        cin>>num2;
        result=num1-num2;
        break;
    case '*':
        cin>>num1;
        cin>>num2;
        result=num1*num2;
        break;
    case '/':