SFML Tutorials?

closed account (1wU9216C)
Since I'm a beginner with SFML, I think this fits here.

In my last thread, Disch suggested I grab SFML and start poking around at it to begin programming small games... Well, from what I've read, I've been able to make a screen, make 2 CircleShape objects, and move one around with the arrow keys. Other than that, I have pretty much no clue what to do. I just can't find a good way to learn SFML. If anybody can point me in the right direction, that would be great. I have checked out what SFML-dev has for tutorials and I'm sure I could learn from them, but it isn't going well. It just doesn't seem like a great way to learn for me.

EDIT: I'm using SFML 2.0
Last edited on
I would say the best way to learn is to have a goal in mind (like make a tic-tac-toe game or something), rather than simply following tutorials. Then once you have the goal you can look at the documentation and tutorials to see if there is anything that would help you get there.
I do have a goal in mind. Disch gave good starting guidelines. They were something like :
Display something
Move it with arrow keys
Display something else that moves randomly
Make something happen when they collide

Right now, I wanna do that and slowly make a small game out of it. Probably dodging the other circles. But that's not all I want to do. I need some kind of tutorial or something I can read to figure out how to do what I want.
That's a start, so I'd look in the tutorials for "how to display something", "how to get keyboard input" to do the first three. Once you've gotten that far, you'll probably know enough about how the objects are stored to check for collisions (it's pretty simple at that point).