How to "Stack" a number?

So in my code I am trying to build a basic choice based game where you either gain or lose gold based on your choices once you lose all your gold you lose the game and if you reach 3000 gold you win

(I am still a newbie so hopefully my code isn't to hard to make out)

right now my problem is how to get my numbers to stack ...i'm using float since this is the only one I know (ya i know i'm an idiot) but if you can tell me a better thing to use or point out any problems it would be much appreciated.

#include <cstdlib>
#include <iostream>
#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
    string response1; //what they reply
    float gold = 1000;
    int r1;

string x = "Hello Player what is your name? \n";
    cout << x ;
    cin >> response1;
    cout 
           << "Hello " 
           << response1 
           << " welcome to the world of Hunne.\n" 
           << "\nAfter your long journey you enter a tavern!\nWould you like to buy some soup for 100 Gold?\n"
           << "\nYou currently have " 
           << gold 
           << " Gold.\n"
           << "\n0 = yes, 1 = no\n";

cin >> r1;

if (r1 == 0)
           {
                  cout 
                       << "Your soup seems to have many odd floating objects in it, you feed it to the dog.\n" 
                       << "You now have " << gold-100 << " Gold.\n"
                       << "As you exit the tavern you see someone getting mugged.\n"
                       << "Should you save them?\n"
                       << "\n0 = yes, 1 = no\n";

cin >> r1;

if (r1 ==0) 
                       {
                              cout 
                                   << "You rush in and attack the mugger."
                                   << "\nHe turns his attention to you. He stole 200 gold\n"
                                   << "He stole 200 Gold!!\nYou now have "
                                   << gold - 200
                                   << " Gold.\n";