VS2012 Ultimate doesn't recognize saved word

Hi guys,
I'm taking a OOP course in the university and we're studying CPP, so I'm quite new at OOP.

I've tried to solve a small problem which was given to students in 2007 and I've came across a problem:
The Visual Studio doesn't recognize the word "string". At the lecture we were told this is a saved word(and in order to use it I have to include the "string" library, so I did). I've added to code so you could look at it.

If it wasn't clear so far, I'm using Visual Studio 2012 Ultimate.

Thanks in advance!

#include <iostream>
#include <string>

class Person{ 
private: 
	int age; 
	string _pname; 
	string _last_name;
}

#include <iostream>
#include <string>

class Person{ 
private: 
	int age; 
	std::string _pname; 
	std::string _last_name;
}

Why do I have to use "std::"?
Because standard C++ classes are declared in the standard namespace std.

Consider an example with your own namespace

namespace MyNamespace
{
   class Person {};
}

int main()
{
   Person p1;  // Error. There is no such name as Person
   MyNamespace::Person p2; // O'k there is such name in your namespace 
}
Last edited on
If you do not want to type every time std:: when you can announce that you will use all names of the standard namespace by means of directive.

using namespace std;

Thanks Vlad, so generally namespace is an actual "space" which contains name and declarations(such as input-output->cout, cin and classes)?

It would nice of you to give me an precise definition of namespace.

From the C++ Standard

7.3 Namespaces [basic.namespace]
1 A namespace is an optionally-named declarative region. The name of a namespace can be used to access entities declared in that namespace; that is, the members of the namespace. Unlike other declarative regions, the definition of a namespace can be split over several parts of one or more translation units.
2 The outermost declarative region of a translation unit is a namespace; see 3.3.6.