Help with c++ max min sum

Project 1: Max, Min and Sum
In this task, use
"data.txt" as input file
"output.txt" as output file
Store a number integers (any number between 0 and 100) in the input file, write
to the
ouput file to show number of integers, the Max, the Min and their sum.
Sample input: ("data.txt")
3 5 2 6 4 1
Sample output: ("output.txt")
Number of integers: 6
Max: 6
Min: 1
Sum: 21

Solution of Project 1:
#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
using namespace std;
int main() {
int x, n, sum, max, min;
ifstream infile("data.txt");
ofstream outfile(“output.txt”);
n = 0;
sum = 0;
max = 0;
min = 100;
while (infile>>x) {
n++;
sum = sum + x;
if ( x > max ) max = x;
if (x < min ) min = x;
}
outfile << " The maximum is : " << max << endl;
outfile << " The minimum is :" << min << endl;
outfile << "The number ofintegers in the file is: " << n << endl;
outfile << "The sum of integers in the file is: " << sum << endl;
system("pause");
return 0;
}

Hey guys im new to c++ and im very inexperienced.My questions are , what does >> or << mean ? what does (infile>>x) mean ? What does the x stands for in the program ? Also , for the "outfile << " The maximum is : " << max << endl;
outfile << " The minimum is :" << min << endl;
outfile << "The number ofintegers in the file is: " << n << endl;
outfile << "The sum of integers in the file is: " << sum << endl"
How would it look like when i compile and run it ? Additionally , why must we set the minimum to 100 ?
Thanks.
Last edited on
outfile << means out to the file just like cout << means out to the terminal. infile >> mean into the file like cin >> means into the variable.'x' looks like the incoming variable from the file in this case to me. The rest I don't know enough about yet to explain very well. Though you could always run the program to see how it looks in the end.