2D Game programming... where to begin?

Pages: 12
Hi, I have some basic knowledge of c++(I've made a Siri like program and a prank virus(harmless) and some other basic MSDOS programs), but I don't have any experience in graphical programming.
I want to make a game to surprise people... and also to have something for school to show off. So by the way this is my first year of high school and we are going to have programming classes.

Whatever... could you give me some advice to get me started. Resources, tutorials and codes will be highly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

closed account (Dy7SLyTq)
there are a lot of things you can use
win32 (if your on windows)
sfml + opengl (i dont know actually if you need opengl for just 2d in sfml)
sdl
opengl
Ok I know the names but I need tutorials. Please don't make me google it!
Btw I've heard that sdl is easier. Is it true
closed account (3qX21hU5)
sfml + opengl (i dont know actually if you need opengl for just 2d in sfml)

No you don't need openGL knowledge to use SFML.

Btw I've heard that sdl is easier. Is it true

It alll depends on what you prefer more. Personally I believe SFML is much easier to understand then SDL but then again I prefer a C++ style library over a C style one. It really comes down to what your prefer.

But basically I would say it comes down to two choices when you are just beginning graphics programming in C++ and need a easy library. SFML and SDL. The others will be a bit more advanced.

For tutorials you have these.

SDL - I am a SFML user so I don't really deal with SDL that much but lazyfoo (Google it) has a bunch of tutorials for SDL. Just make sure if you go with SDL to get the new 2.0 version.