Array Indexing Question

Hello,

I am very new to C++ and have started to teach myself from a book; which I am enjoying mostly.
Ok to start of this program(below) was inside my C++ book and I've been reading this topic for a while now and I don't understand the array indexing bit like why you have to have a for loop each time for a array, as this is what I understand from my C++ book.

Also, I don't understand when numbers[i] is assigned like that with "i" does that just mean so "numbers" has somewhere to be stored in the memory? So to sum up my question: how does the indexing work in this program as I don't understand it and why you have a for loop; and why "i" is assigned to "numbers" like that; also I don't understand this if statement:
if(!strcmp(str, numbers[i])) {
			cout << "Number is " << numbers[i+1] << "\n\n";
			break;
}

Here is the whole program if that helps:

#include <iostream>
#include <cstdio>
using namespace std;

int main() {

int i;
	char str[80];
	char numbers[10][80] = {
		"Tom", "555-3322",
		"Mary", "555-8976",
		"Jon", "555-1037",
		"Rachel", "555-8873",
		 "Sherry", "555-8873"
	};
	cout << "Enter a number: ";
	cin >> str;

for(i=0; i< 10; i +=2)
			break;
		}
		if(i==10) cout << "Not found.\n\n";

return 0;
}

Thank you for your time and effort.

Last edited on
Arrays are just a group of variables that are accessed through the same name.

This example is a little confusing because you actually have a 2D array of chars instead of a 1D array of strings which would be simpler and easier for a beginner to understand.... (but you can ignore me here... I have beef with the way a lot of C++ books are written and/or how the language is taught in general).

So I'm going to use a slightly different example that might be easier for you to understand:

int array[5] = { 6, 10, 15, 1, 30 };

cout << "index 2 is " << array[2] << endl;

for(int j = 0; j < 5; ++j)
{
    cout << array[j] << endl;
}
outputs:

index 2 is 15