API advice for game dev - new to c++

Hi all!

I'm new to C++ (and this forum! :)) but I'm hoping to use it to develop a game for eventual distribution on Steam - nothing fancy, a simple thing that might entertain a few folk and maybe put a couple of pennies towards the bills if I'm lucky.

I'm also hoping I wont have to write my own graphics engine, collision detection etc. and so.. anyone got any suggestions for good, free to use commercially and preferably easy to learn/ well documented APIs that no C++er should be without?

In particular I'm looking for;
- graphics (2d and/or 3d but I'll probably be using 2d - sprites or vectors)
- dealing with input devices (I want to implement local multiplayer with multiple USB gamepads, ideally with rumble for pads that have it)
- collision detection/ physics (all I really need is basic swept circle tests I think, but as long as it's simple more wouldn't hurt)
- particles (because who doesn't like prettyness?)

but also anything else that you particularly like or think might be helpful. :P

I've got a few ideas of where to start but.. there's just so many options... so yeah, any suggestions greatly appreciated!
Cheers,
OB :)

edit: oh, also preferably APIs that work on as wide a spectrum of systems as possible if that's applicable... I really don't know much on how it all works yet. >.<
Last edited on
I have a couple things you might not like:

- You will be writing EVERYTHING. Otherwise, you will write everything until you learn how to install third party libraries.

- wxWidgets is a good GUI library, but again, I even have trouble with trying to install it, and I'm nearly 3 years into practice.

- Input devices will need another library, unless you want to write your own classes and functions to handle them.