API for C++ GUI Programming

Hi all and thanks in advance.

Can you suggest me an API to realize a GUI with C++?? I try to create a simple project with win API but I see that there's a lot of code to create just a simple window with a title. I've even read in some topic that win32 api are obsolete and are only win compatible.

I have heard something about WxWidget and Qt4 but I don't know wich is the easiest and better approach.

I would like something like javax.Swing, I'm a java developer and I study C pure at college but I never realize a real application in c++ (and I forget many thing of this language!!). Now I'm restart studing and any suggestion will be appreciated.

Thanks a lot and sorry for my english

Giacomo
Last edited on
No idea??
What do you think about Qt or WxWidget? Wich is the better OO approach??

Can someone suggest me please?

Thank you
closed account (3qX21hU5)
It really all depends what one you like the feel of better. Both QT and wxWidgets are great APIs.

I would suggest downloading both of them and try them out. Give it a bit of time though, most likely you won't know which one you feel more comfortable with till at least a few weeks of using them.

Now that I have said that I will say that I personally think QT is superior in almost every way ;p. I think this SO post sums it up quite well.

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2886258/wxwidgets-vs-qt
I've had experience with both but more with Qt than wxWidgets.

The problems with wxWidgets is that it tries to be more like MFC than Qt. wxWidgets was made to help users that was using MFC to migrate easier to a better and less buggy GUI framework. So what wxWidgets made actually inherited a lot of the bad things MFC had. And what you got was wxWidgets.