"Not Equal" seems to be "Equal"

Hello. I am a programming student and I was working on a random number generator exercise when I decided that it might be cool to take input from the user and see how many loops it takes before the user's number comes up randomly.

The program I wrote "works", in that it compiles and runs fine, but the behavior is wrong. If I put in 25 as the input, it stops as soon as it finds any number starting with 25 (2501, 2594, 259984, etc.). The same if you put in a single digit or three or four. It stops as soon as that many digits (from left to right) of the generated number match the input number. I thought using "!=" as my condition would mean LITERALLY that it had to match perfectly, but it seems to match from left to right and that's good enough! :)

Why is it doing that? Did I use the wrong operator? Is my logic faulty?

#include "stdafx.h"
#include <iostream> 
#include <ctime> 

using namespace std; 

int main () 
{ 
         int attempt = 1;
	int r = 0;
	int userNumber;
	int userStart =1;

while (userStart == 1)
	{

//get the user to enter the random number to find
		cout << "\n" << "Please enter a whole number to find:  ";
		cin >> userNumber; 
		cout<< "\n\n" << "You entered " << userNumber << "." << "\n" << endl;
		cout<< "Searching for your number..." << endl;
		cout << endl;

//use computer clock time to seed the random number generator 
		srand( (unsigned)time( NULL ) ); 

//generate random numbers until the user number is found
		while (r != userNumber)
		{ 

// generate the numbers and count attempts
			r = rand(); cout << "Attempt: " << attempt;
			cout << "     Current Random Number is: " << r << "\r"; 

attempt = attempt + 1;

} 

cout << endl;
		cout << "\n" << "Found!" << "\n" << endl;
		cout << "Enter ""1"" to try again, or any other key to exit. " << endl;
		cin >> userStart;

}

return 0;
}

[/code]
I copied and pasted your program in VS2012 and it behaves as expected (i.e., requires an exact match).