Help with void functions

Hey guys,

I want to preface this by saying I am trying to teach myself C++ from a textbook I bought. I am a complete beginner to programming, and this isn't for any assignment, this is for my own knowledge.

It seems I may be having trouble with a concept that has to do with void functions. I think perhaps I may not be fully understanding the scope of identifiers, or maybe reference parameters.

The question in the book is as follows:

6. For research purposes and to better help students, the admissions office of your local university wants to know how well female and male students perform in certain courses. You receive a file that contains female and male student GPAs for certain courses. Due to confidentiality, the letter code f is used for female students and m for male students. Every file entry consists of a letter code followed by a GPA. Each line has one entry. The number of entries in the file is unknown. Write a program that computes and outputs the average GPA for both female and male students. Format your results to two decimal places. Your program should use the following functions:
a. Function openFiles: This function opens the input and output files, and sets the output of the floating-point numbers to two decimal places in a fixed decimal format with a decimal point and trailing zeros.
b. Function initialize: This function initializes variables such as countFemale, countMale, sumFemaleGPA, and sumMaleGPA.
c. Function sumGrades: This function finds the sum of the female and male students’ GPAs.
d. Function averageGrade: This function finds the average GPA for female and male students.
e. Function printResults: This function outputs the relevant results. f. There can be no global variables. Use the appropriate parameters to pass
information in and out of functions.

And my code is:

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <iomanip>

using namespace std;

void openFiles(ifstream& inFile, ofstream& outFile);