Dividing a number in parts

Hello! I have a homework with switch statement that I have to make a code that user can write any number what he likes (with as many digits as he likes) and the program needs to see if the last two digits of that number can be divided with 4. The problem is that as a beginner I don't know where to look for idea or code what would help program to work only with the last two digits of a number what user writes in.

Basically it would look like this:
User writes in "513254613" and the program needs to see if the last two digits (13) can be divided with 4.

I don't need that someone codes me the program only show how to get those two digits of any number so I can work with them... if it would be said that user can write 2 or 3 digits then I would know how to but the thing is that user can write number with as many digits as he wants.

I hope that someone understood me and can hep me.
You can use the modulus operator (%) to do this. Try taking a look at what it does and see if you can figure out how to use it to accomplish what you need.
closed account (3qX21hU5)
Well there are a few options to finding the last two digits of a number so you can work with them.

The easiest would probably be converting the number into a string to work with.

For example

int main()
{
    int number = 513254613;
    string numberString = std::to_string(number);

// Now we can get the last to digits pretty easy.
    int lastDigits = std::stoi(numberString.substr(numberString.size() - 2));

cout << lastDigits;
}

Your compiler might not yet support the std::to_string and std::stoi functions so if that is the case you might want to write your own to use for now. To do so you can look into stringstream and how they work.

Another way would be to use the mathematical version which involves the modulus operator.

EDIT: Opps Zhuge got to it first.
Last edited on
I need something similar to this

#include <iostream>
#include <stdlib.h>
using namespace std;

int main()
{