Learning and remembering(!) C++

Hi folks, I hope as many people can post here. I've been learning C++ for about 3 months with Primer 5th (upto chapter 10) and I just have to ask, how the heck you guys remember stuff? I don't really have a problem learning, I usually understand what I read, but when I go to code so many little details I forget. I have to constantly look things up to see if that thing was for this container or that, and so on. I keep .txt notes of crucial things to remember. Especially the syntax of the things and member functions of containers and what operations you can and can't do, especially iterators.

I always feel so crap because of the exercises littered throughout the book. I understand particular stuff, but when I get to these I'm like O.o ??? I have to constantly reread through chapters to refresh my memory especially because you don't use certain features a lot.

I also wonder what stuff you do to practice? I can't really think of programs to do apart from such trivial stuff forcing the use of particular concepts. I've done a calculator of all things maths, which I keep expanding, hangman and an employee statistics DB (all console). I'm tried playing with SFML but things get too complicated and I haven't got into object-orientated stuff much.

Do you guys have methods or advice, was anyone else like me and is good now? Hopefully you can tell me it's going to be hunky dory, because I'm getting stressed. Any kind of encouragement would be grateful because I'm feeling pretty useless with my code now.
Last edited on