IDE or not?

So I'm getting mixed opinions from people all over.

In some instances people tell me IDE's are like crutches and make you weak.
Others tell me that coding without an IDE is suicide.

Side note: If this is in the wrong place, let me know. I only thought to put it here since I'm a noob asking a question about what noobs should do.

Personally I don't use one (Like VS 2012) because when I open it and see all the features, my brain stops and says "Dude, I just wanted to write some code." That, and the output for the debugger is hard to read. (personal opinion)
Not to mention, all of my code has to run on a Linux server, so why not write in Notepad++ and compile on there? It's kind of a nuisance to dig through the project folders in VS and pull my cpp's and headers to the linux server. Plus since c++ isn't 100% portable, the code may not run in both places.

Alas, I am willing to listen and I would like to know from people who are more experienced than me: Is it worth it to a newbie like me to learn how to use VS?
Just my opinion, but I think that both arguments are valid. IDE's can make you overdependent on it, and not learn how to compile things with a command line. However, they ARE designed to be labour-saving devices, and as such should probably be used when necessary. When you are learning, it doesn't really matter, because (as you said) the problem is whether to learn how to use the IDE or how to code. My recommendation is to use an IDE (you have to sometime), but for your case, I would not use VS 2012.

My reasoning for this is as follows: VS 2012 is a windows based product. I agree that it can be necessary (and incredibly helpful) when developing windows programs. However, you are trying to code for a Linux Server, which is definitely NOT windows. Also, I have found that VS has (or did have) some wierd little quirks with the language, that no other IDE or compiler I have found do.