understanding loops

Hello everybody!

I am really really new to C++ and programming in general. I'm just turning 2 weeks into it!
I'm going to be honest here. The questions I'll be posting are part of my assignment for an online class I'm taking. I'm not asking for a direct solution so I can simply copy - paste. I'm looking for tips on how to do my assignment and how to understand what's going on with my program.
So, my assignment has 2 tasks. I will post just the first one for now. I'm still not sure if to even try my second one. I've spent over a week trying to figure out the 1st one on my own and it really didn't work out at all. And the 1st task is like kindergarten compared to the 2nd.

So I have to write a program that:
1. Asks the user to type in a number higher than 0 (let's call it A) and on a different line to type in a number higher than A (let's call it B).
2. The program then has to take each number from A to B and apply a series of operations to each of them repetitively until each number we started from becomes 0.
3. The program has to count how many times it is necessary to repeat the operations to get to 0.
4. The program has to have as output ONLY the number it started from, an arrow (->) and the number of times it had to go through the loop.

For example:
A user chooses A to be 5 and B, 7.
The program will take the numbers from 5 to 7, so 5, 6, 7 and apply:
a. if the number is divisible by 3, it will add 4 to the number;
b. if the number is divisible by 4, it will divide the number by 2;
c. if it's neither divisible by 3, nor 4, it will subtract 1;
Lets take 5. It is not divisible by either 3 or 4 so it falls under the c, therefore we will subtract 1. So 5 - 1 = 4. Now 4 is divisible by 4 so it falls under b; therefore we will divide 4 by 2, getting 2. 2 falls under c so we subtract 1, reaching 1. And 1 falls under c, we subtract 1 and tada! 0.