Strings - finding a letter

Hi,

I'm trying to enter a name as a string, and then do a search for a specific letter in the string. I'm new at this.

The 'first' name I want to enter is 'david'. (Last name is irrelevant for this project.)

It'd like the search to begin at the 3 position in the string, which should be the letter "i", so that the search character, "d", would be found at position 4.

My problem is on line 56. I thought using,

first.find("d".3)

would say to search for the letter "d", starting at position 3.

Any ideas how to fix this? It seems straightforward.

// This program will have user input names and have them stored as strings.  Computer will then output them.

#include <iostream>
#include <string>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
	string full_name;  // creating a string variable named 'name'
	string first, last; // creating 2 different string varaibles, 'first' and 'last'
	string combine;

// This will have the user enter both their first and last name	using 1 variable

cout << "What is your full name? ";

getline(cin,full_name);     /* A user enters their name. This is different from how you enter numbers, just using the 'cin' command
						      The value they entered (command 'cin'), is assigned to string varaible 'my_name'
						      Note:  You can enter a first and last name, with a space between them here, and it will store it with the space.
							  You do not need to use an underscore '_'
					      */

cout << "My name is: " << full_name << endl;

// This will have the user enter both their first and last name, seperatly,	using 2 variables

cout << "\n" << endl;

cout << "Enter your first name: ";
	getline(cin,first);

cout << "Enter your last name: ";
	getline(cin,last);

cout << "Your name is: " << first << " " << last << endl;

// data output

cout << "\nLength of your first name: " << first.length() << " characters" << endl;
	cout << "Length of your last name: " << last.length() << " characters" << endl;