HELP PLEASE!!! inputting range of array and getting random numbers help

User has to input [a,b] range and I have to declare array of size 400 and program should output random numbers from this range. I am new at this and can you tell me some tips how can I do it. The code I have so far is this:

#include <iostream>
#include<cstdlib>
using namespace std;

int main () {

int a,b;

cin>>a>>b;

srand(time (NULL));

int array[400];
    cout<<array[rand()];

}
Last edited on
i have changed it a little bit:

#include <iostream>
#include<cstdlib>
using namespace std;
int getRandom(){
    int a,b;
    srand(time(NULL));
    if(rand()>a && rand()<b){

return rand();

}

}
int main () {

int a,b;

cin>>a>>b;

srand(time (NULL));

int array[400];
    for(int i=0;i<b-a;i++){array[400]=getRandom();
    }

cout<<getRandom();
}

In your main you are creating a second random number, this is going to cause some problems for you later I assume.

also,
in your for loop your logic is a bit wrong. You are basically assigning the 400th index your random number every time your loop runs. You are trying to assign 1 value to EVERY index, not 1 value to 1 index every time. It should look like this::

int a = 1, b = 10;
	int array[400];

for (int i = 0; ((i<a) && (i<b)); i++)
	{
		array[i] = getRandom(a, b);
		cout << array[i];
	}

Notice how I am also sending the 'getRandom' function your variables 'a' and 'b'. You have to do this, otherwise you are just going to get compilation errors or irrelevant data.
Last edited on
I have changed it however it does not compile and I do not understand why?

#include <iostream>
#include<cstdlib>
using namespace std;
int getRandom(int a,int b){
    srand( time(NULL) );
    if(rand()>a && rand()<b){

return rand();

}

}// it says that here is an error
int main () {

int a = 1, b = 10;
	int array[400];

for (int i = 0; ((i<a) && (i<b)); i++)
	{
		array[i] = getRandom (a, b);
		cout << array[i];
	}
}
What error are you getting?