Can anybody explain constructors/deconstructors?

Hello...I was just wondering ever since I started coding (started with Java and now with C++), I've never for the life of me figured out what constructors and deconstructors are fundamentally. Classes are the pinnacle of OO programming, and yet this entire time I've learned them just from memorization rather than fundamentally understanding what they are.

Usually when I look at code, I can explain it in English despite how convoluted it might be it still makes sense and more-over the order makes sense, but I can't seem to grasp the point of constructors and deconstructors overall. Can anybody here explain them please =s?
Last edited on
I'm sure there are a lot of uses for Constructors / destructors but they seem helpful with overloading functions.

Also having them automatically delete variables can be nice too.

Read about them here :)

http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/classes/
Do not call them "deconstructors". Most people call them "destructors".

So what are they? They are special functions that get called automatically when an object is created (constructor) and again when an object is destroyed (destructor).

They are "special" functions in that they have no return value. In addition the destructor takes no parameters, ever.

They have the purpose of initializing the "contents" of the object (constructor) or to release resources when the object owning them dies (destructor).

#include <iostream>

class Test
{

private:

int *pi;

// these below were "removed" to keep the class simple
    Test(const Test &); // copy constructor
    Test & operator = (const Test &); // copy operator

public:

Test(): pi(new int[100])
    {
        std::clog << "Constructor Test::Test() for object at address " << this << '\n';
        std::clog << "Memory was allocated.\n";
    }

~Test()
    {
        delete[] pi;
        std::clog << "Destructor Test::~Test() for object at address " << this << '\n';