String class

Pages: 12
I am in the middle of writing a program where I declare two objects to be of the string class. However, I am new to this section of C++ and I think I may have declared them incorrectly (i.e the errors I get when I compile should go away if I fix them). Can anyone tell me the proper way to do this?

This is what I had
String target, pattern;

Where target and pattern were the objects.
C++ is case sensitive, so you have to be careful.
#include <iostream>
#include <string>
using namespace std;

int main()
  {
  string target, pattern;

return 0;
  }

Hope this helps.
I thought class names usually began with a capital letter? I suppose the syntax is just different. My mistake. Thank you.
Last edited on
Standard library class and function names are lower case, the reason for this may be to make those easier to type.
When you write "user defined" classes it might be typical for the typenames to begin with uppercase letters. That is how it is on the project that I work on. However, the std::string is part of the standard template library, therefore your project specific coding standard doesn't apply here.
Thank you all. I actually had another question and will take the liberty of posting it on this thread. What does the find() function return if the two string arguments are not equal? Is there another function that handles this?
It returns string::npos
There are many string member functions which find something, see http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/string/string/ (scroll down to String operations )
Thank you.