Multithreading using <thread>

Ok so what I'm trying to do is see how many times a number of threads can run a function in one second.

So I want to create 1, 2, 4, 8 and 16 threads, count the number of times a function run by those threads in one second, and output the number of functions calls aswell as number of threads to the console.

I've never done threading in C++ before so not really sure how the syntax is supposed to work, I can get one thread working, but after that I'm at a loss. So any help would be great.

So this is the function which I want the threads to call, it works fine if I just call it once within the main.

void moneyTransfer(Bank* bank)
{
	int account1 = (rand()%bank->numAccounts) + 90000000;
	int account2 = (rand()%bank->numAccounts) + 90000000;
	int transferAmount = (rand()%10000);
	int balanceBefore = bank->bankBal;
	int balanceAfter;

bank->transfer(account1, account2, transferAmount);

balanceAfter = bank->bankBal;

if(balanceAfter != balanceBefore)
		cout << "Error! Bank balance changed." << endl;

numTransfers ++;
}

All I have with regards to threads so far is:

#include <thread>

int main()
{
thread one(moneyTransfer, bank0acc);
one.join();
Sleep(1000);
cout << "Transfers with one thread: " << numTransfers << endl;
}

But that only calls itself once?
Last edited on
The function you pass to std::thread's constructor is like that thread's 'main'. It runs exactly once... and when it returns, the thread shuts down. So if you want it to run something multiple times, you will need to put it in a loop.

Also note that one.join(); will have this thread wait until the one thread closes on its own. It will NOT force it to close. So if moneyTransfer is in an infinite loop and you try to join() with it, your program will deadlock.