HELP with simple program

Hello everyone, I am new to C++ as well as the board after missing some time in school and am in need of a little help. After missing a few weeks in class due to personal reasons I fell a bit behind. The time off had a bigger impact than I thought but I also think I may be thinking too far into this problem. The assignment we have been working on asks us to modify a program so that it generates a certain output. Below is the program that needs modified:

#include <iostream>
  using namespace std;

int main()
  {
    int i, j;

for(i = 1; i <= 5; i++)
    {
      cout << "\ni is now " << i << endl;

for(j = 1; j <= 4; j++)
        cout << " j = " << j;
    }

return 0;
}

The code needs modified to generate the following outputs on the screen:

i = 1 j = 2
i = 1 j = 3
i = 1 j = 4
i = 2 j = 3
i = 2 j = 4
i = 3 j = 4

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated! Thank you.

try this
for(i = 1; i <=5; i++)
for(j = 1; j <=4; j++)
cout << "\ni = " << i << "j = " << j << endl;
 i = 1 j = 2
 i = 1 j = 3
 i = 1 j = 4
 i = 2 j = 3
 i = 2 j = 4
 i = 3 j = 4

It's all about recognizing patterns.

Here, we know that 'i' is the counter for the outer loop. So splitting up that output to see what needs to be printed each loop, we are left with this:

i = 1 j = 2
 i = 1 j = 3
 i = 1 j = 4

i = 2 j = 3
 i = 2 j = 4

i = 3 j = 4

So take a look at this output and try to piece together things we know about it. We can see that 'i' counts from 1 to 3... but how does 'j' count? It seems to end at 4, but where does it start?
Last edited on
closed account (iAk3T05o)
Try ++i and ++j rather than i++ and j++. They are the same but sometimes have different effects.
jwilt wrote:
try this
Nathan2222 wrote:
Try ++i and ++j rather than i++ and j++. They are the same but sometimes have different effects.

I don't want to sound like an asshole... I mean I'm sure you guys mean well... but telling him to try random things isn't very helpful.