Help with manipulating passed array

Hi! Total c++ newbie here. I'm trying to make a tic-tac-toe game for my c++ class and I've made pretty good progress, but I think I'm finally stuck. Here's what I've got:

void recordMove(int currentTurn, int &xloc, int &yloc, char boardLoc, char boardContents[][3])
{
     convert1d2d(boardLoc, xloc, yloc, boardContents);
     while ((boardLoc<49) || (boardLoc>57) || (yloc==3))
     {
           cout << "\nError, please enter a number designating a valid open space.  ";
           cin >> boardLoc;
           convert1d2d(boardLoc, xloc, yloc, boardContents);
           cout << endl;
     }
     if (currentTurn%2==0)
        boardContents[xloc][yloc]='X';
     else
         boardContents[xloc][yloc]='O';
}

My code compiles and the program runs fine past calls of this function. The valid entry check works as expected. The problem is that the array boardContents[][3] is unchanged after it is called (judging by a simple print function that executes afterwards):

void drawBoard(char boardContents[][3])
{
     cout << boardContents[0][0] << "|" << boardContents[0][1] << "|" << boardContents[0][2] <<endl;
     cout << boardContents[1][0] << "|" << boardContents[1][1] << "|" << boardContents[1][2] <<endl;
     cout << boardContents[2][0] << "|" << boardContents[2][1] << "|" << boardContents[2][2] <<endl;
}

It seems that, failing all else, array position 0,0 should be updated to 'O', but instead nothing is changing, and I can't figure out why. Aren't arrays passed by reference by default?
Last edited on
Arrays decay to pointers when passed to functions so you're right in thinking their values should be modified.

What are these convert1d2d calls doing? Converting the user choice (which appears to be 1-9) to array indices? Have you tried checking the value of xloc and yloc after this call?
Yeah, that's what it's doing.

void convert1d2d(char boardLocation, int &xlocation, int &ylocation, char boardContents[][3])
{
     ylocation=0;