Can someone explain this bubble sort example to me

Hi. I'm trying to learn C (no prior programming experience) and came across this bubble sort example:

To me it appears that the first time the if-statement in the inner for-loop runs...

"if (nums[inner] < nums[outer])"

...the same two array elements are compared, because outer is assigned to inner in the inner for-loop start expression.

That doesn't make sense to me, but being a rookie I'm aware that I'm missing something. Can someone explain to me why I'm wrong or why this is done?

“    // Sort the array

for (outer = 0; outer < 9; outer++)
    {
        didSwap = 0; //Becomes 1 (true) if list is not yet ordered

for (inner = outer; inner < 10; inner++)
        {
            if (nums[inner] < nums[outer])
            {
                temp = nums[inner];
                nums[inner] = nums[outer];
                nums[outer] = temp;
                didSwap = 1;
            }
        }
        if (didSwap == 0)
        {
            break;
        }
    }

// Now list the array as it currently is after sorting
    puts("\nHere is the list after the sort:");
    for (ctr = 0; ctr < 10; ctr++)
    {
        printf("%d\n", nums[ctr]);
    }

return(0);
}”

Excerpt From: Dean Miller. “C Programming Absolute Beginner's Guide, 3/e.” iBooks. https://itun.es/dk/mgpUO.l
Gyes - I'm a beginner as well, but since no one has answered you and I've used that same book, I'll throw in may 2 cents.

I think this example has 2 problems:

1. The purpose of the inner loop is to compare the inner integers one by one to the outer integer. If the inner integer is less than, swap them. As you mentioned though, the first iteration of the inner loop is a bit redundant:

for (inner = outer; inner < 10; inner++)