Dynamically declared 2 dimensional arrays

As this is my first post on cplusplus.com, first of all thank you in advance for the help I anticipate receiving from other members. I am a retired chemist who is studying Visual C++ as a hobby to keep what passes for a brain active. I am still using VC++ 6.0 because the cost of the latest version is prohibitive for my limited uses.

I am developing a program which data is entered into a 2 dimensional array (raw_data[30][100]) defined at compile time. I have constructed a dialog box (CEditRawDataDlg) to edit the raw data in case of error in inputting the data. The dialog box asks the user for the row and column number of the incorrect datum and displays the current value in the dialog box. I have achieved this by declaring a reference (&m_pRaw_Data) to raw_data[0][0] (in the document class) in the dialog box class. By invoking the EN_CHANGE I can get the current value of raw_data[rows][columns] using *(m_pRaw_Data + (30 * m_row) + m_col). This works fine for the array declared at compile time.

I now want to use dynamically declared two dimensional array using the vector method. I have hit a problem since the dynamically declared array rows are not contiguous and leads to garbage values being returned (apart from the first row). Has anyone any idea how I might overcome this problem? I’ve tried lots of things but have not succeeded. Please be gentle with me guys because I’m just starting to learn. Thank you in advance.
Allan

You should use std::vector or some ready matrix library (there are tons of these in this forum).

dynamically declared array rows are not contiguous

Dynamically allocated array is contiguous but memory is not cleared after allocation. Use memset ( http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/cstring/memset/ ) to clear it before use.

ps. you can use visual studio express editions (2010,2012,2013, etc.)
declaring a reference (&m_pRaw_Data) to raw_data[0][0] (in the document class)