Printing string in reverse order

Hey guys I am new at c++ I was just wondering if someone could show me how to print a string in reverse order(for example: "today is Wednesday " to "Wednesday is today"). My professor said we should begin with a null string and build it one word at a time. i have been working on this for weeks, and cannot figure it out. If someone can help me out,I would greatly appreciate it!!!

Thank You,

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <string>
using namespace std;

int nwords(string);

int main()
{
string next;
int count;

ifstream mohsin("line.txt");

getline(mohsin,next);
if(mohsin)
{
count=nwords(next);
cout<<next<<endl;
getline(mohsin,next);
}
}

int nwords(string str)
{
int nextblank;
int nw=0;

nextblank=str.find(" ",0);

while(nextblank>0)
{
nw++;
str=str.substr(nextblank+1);
nextblank=str.find(" ",0);
}

return nw;
}

string reverse(string str){}
Here's an easy way of doing it:

1.) Create some sort of std::string container (maybe a vector).

2.) Enter a loop, which separates words by finding white-space characters, and then pushes each word to the container.

2.5.) Ensure that any potential punctuation characters aren't considered to be part of a word

3.) Either:

a.) Reverse the elements of the container, and then print the elements in an ascending for loop.

b.) Print the elements of the container in a descending for loop.

But I suppose you haven't learned about vectors yet.
And, I suppose you have to, as your instructor said, "begin with a null string".
I'll try to post an example here soon.
Last edited on
We are not allowed to use vectors for the class, it is only a introductory course.
Here's a weird example.

#include <iostream>
#include <string>

int main(int argc, char* argv[]) {

std::string sentence = "This is a sentence ";

std::string nullstring = "";
	std::string temp = "";

for (unsigned short i = 0; i < sentence.size(); ++i) {
		if (sentence[i] != ' ') {
			temp += sentence[i];
		}
		else {