Seeking explanation re: trailing &'s and *'s

I am very new to C++ and attempting to learn via "C++ Primer" (5th edition).

I am encountering trailing &'s and *'s with variable definitions that the book I am using does not explain. Most notably char* and char& etc.

Would someone please explain these constructs, hopefully with specific definitions and perhaps some online references.

Thank you,
Ortndal
does char *someVar and char &someVar make sense to you?
My (limited) understanding is that the 1st is a pointer, and the second is a reference.
correct. char& someVar and char* someVar is the same thing, but it will only refer to the first. ie:
char* var1, var2; // var1 is a pointer and var2 is a normal char
char *var3, * var4; // all are pointers 
Would someone please explain these constructs, hopefully with specific definitions and perhaps some online references.

Since you said you're new to C++ and in the previous post you said your limited understanding, I'm assuming you do not full comprehend pointers and references.

A pointer contains the address of an object in memory.

A reference is the same thing, although the way you access the pointed to object in memory are different and their declarations are different.

char obj1 = 'a';
char obj2= 'b';
char* p = &obj1; // pointer
// Note the & before obj, that is the address of operator,
// should not be confused with the declaration of a reference
char& ref = obj; // reference 

To access and change the value of an object using a pointer you have to dereference it:

*p = 'w'; // obj1 and ref is now 'w' 

You can change the what the pointer is pointing to some other object:

// Note there is not * before p = ...
p = &obj2; // p now points to obj2, it contains obj2's address 

To access the value of a reference you just do:

ref = 't'; // obj1 now equals 't' 

But with references you cannot make it refer (or point) to another object.