Need to understand the logic of multiplication and addition logic

Hi Tech gurus,
I am studying c++ using "Thinking in c++" now am in chapter 1 and solving the exercises , I have solved the last two questions
Q9 ) Create 3 vector <float> objects and fill the first two. write a for loop and that adds each corresponding elements of the first 2 vectors and puts the resultant in the third one . Display all 3.

#include<iostream>
#include<vector>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
    vector <float> v;
    vector <float> v2;
    vector <float> v3;
    int i;
    float x;
    cout << " enter 6 floating no.s for v1"<<endl;

for (i=0;i<2;i++)
    {
       cin >> x;
       v.push_back(x);
    }
     cout << " enter 6 floating no.s for v2"<<endl;
     for (i=0;i<2;i++)
    {
       cin >> x;
       v2.push_back(x);
    }
    cout << "  you just entered 6 floating no.s for v1 as : :" <<endl;
    for (i=0;i<v.size();i++)
    {
        cout << v[i] <<endl;
    }
     cout << "  you just entered 6 floating no.s for v2 as : :" <<endl;
    for (i=0;i<v2.size();i++)
    {
        cout << v2[i] <<endl;
    }
    cout <<"your resultant vector is :" << endl;
     for (i=0;i<2;i++)
    {
       //v3[i] = v[i] + v2[i];
         x = v[i] + v2[i];
       v3.push_back(x);

}
    for (i=0;i<v3.size();i++)
    {
        cout << v3[i] <<endl;
    }
    system("pause");
    return 0;
}

Q10) Create a vector and put some numbers into it , square each number and put the result back into th same location. My code :

#include<iostream>
#include<vector>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
    vector <float> v;
    int i;
    float x;
    cout << " enter 25 floating no.s"<<endl;

for (i=0;i<6;i++)
    {
       cin >> x;
       v.push_back(x);
    }
    cout << "  you just entered :" <<endl;
    for (i=0;i<v.size();i++)
    {
        v[i] = v[i] * v[i] ;
        cout << v[i] <<endl;
    }
    system("pause");
    return 0;
}