Exc_Bad_Access

Hello,

First of all, this place is great. With one exception, I have always been able to find information leading me to my answer by browsing through the forums and tutorials. The one exception I will detail below.

I will be honest, this is a homework question, but I am NOT looking for the answer. I have already written the code, I am an astute student, I refuse to share my homework with other students etc, but I am having problems with this one instance. I would ask my professor, but she is impossible to understand, and I've noticed her make a few errors during class, so I'd rather speak to the experts here hehe.

Basically, I need to input baby names from a file into an array (I did three arrays; one each for the rank, boys names, and girls names), then allow the user to search for any name. The result returned to the user is the ranking of their query among Boys names and among Girls names. If the name is not found, I also display that to the console for the user. I am using XCode 3.2.6.

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
using namespace std;

void getInput();
void getBoysNameRank();
void getGirlsNameRank();

string userInput;
string boys[1000];
string girls[1000];
int rank[1000];
bool boysFound = false;
bool girlsFound = false;

ifstream input;

int main() {

getInput();
	getBoysNameRank();
	getGirlsNameRank();

return 0;

}

void getInput() {

input.open("babynames.txt");

for(int i=0; i<1001; i++) {
		input >> rank[i];
		input >> boys[i];
		input >> girls[i];
	}

cout << "Please input your query: ";
	cin >> userInput;

input.close();
}

void getBoysNameRank() {
	int position;
	for(int index=0; index<1001; index++) {
		if (userInput == boys[index]) {
			position = index;
			boysFound = true;
		}				
	}

if (boysFound)
		cout << userInput << " is ranked " << position << " in popularity among boys names." << endl;
	if (!boysFound)
		cout << userInput << " is not among the top 1000 boys names." << endl;
}

void getGirlsNameRank() {