Problem with char arrarys

Hi guys , Im not that good at c++ but im learning , What i want to do is make a char array started by 0xe9 and followed by unsigned int address represented in the code by jumpto
lets say the jumpto value is 0x12345678 i want the array to hold E9 87 65 43 21
but the program keep crashing .
char *editbytes ="\0xe9";
char* byteArray = (char*)jumpto;
strcat_s(editbytes+1, 4, byteArray);
Last edited on
Please show more code.

As defined above, "editbytes" is a character array with four characters ('0', 'x', 'e', '9'), not one character 0xe9;
Also, "0xe9" is a const char *, not a char *, so writing to it gives undefined results, most likely that's what's causing the crash.

I imagine you don't want to do "(char*)jumpto" unless you really want the contents of address "jumpto" what you want is jumpto itself, so do "(char*)(&jumpto)"

I'm not familiar with strcat_s, so I can't tell if the signature is okay, but it looks like you might be reading from addres "4" instead of byteArray.

Finally, this smells like C not C++. There're much better and easier ways of doing this in basic C++.

Anyway, here's an ANSI C example.

#include <stdio.h>
#include <string.h>

#define ARRAY_SIZE (5)

int main()
{
	int i = 0;
	int jumpto = 0x12345678;
	unsigned char editbytes[ARRAY_SIZE];
	editbytes[0] = 0xe9;
	memcpy(editbytes + 1, (char*)(&jumpto), ARRAY_SIZE);

/* test */
	for (i = 0; i < ARRAY_SIZE; ++i)
		printf("%#x ", editbytes[i]);
		printf("\n");

return 0;
}
I meant to write \xe9 not 0xe9 , Thanks for your help it works fine now .
I'm also unclear as to what you're trying to do.

You say that jumpto contains 0x12_34_56_78. That is 4 bytes (8 hex nibbles). I've added underscores to identify byte boundaries.