Random number generation - repetition problems

Hi there everyone!

I am a beginning C++ programmer and I am trying to create a program which is similar to a 6-number lottery. Basically, it will generate 6 random numbers from 1-50 with no repetition and then display them. However, despite my best efforts I have not been able to prevent the program from repeating numbers. In my code below, my idea was basically to "null out" the numbers I have already used, and for the code to skip over those numbers, but it doesn't work properly. I still get repeated numbers, so the program isn't "skipping over" the nulled out values. Of note is that I have never gotten 0 when I run the program, so it isn't selecting those either. Can anyone offer me some guidance as to how to prevent the repeated selection of numbers?

#include <iostream>
#include <cstdio>
#include <cstdlib>  // for rand functions
#include <ctime>    // for time functions

using namespace std;
int main()
{

int lotteryPool[50];
    for (int x=0; x<50;x=x+1) // generates an array of all 50 possible numbers
    {
    lotteryPool[x] = x+1;
    }                         

srand( time(NULL));        // using time as a random seed.
    int randomIndex;
    int x;
    for (x = 0; x<6; x++)      // iterating through six numbers
    {
        randomIndex = rand() % 50; // generating a random index to pick
        if (lotteryPool[randomIndex] != 0)  // if the value is nulled, we skip it.
        {
            cout << lotteryPool[randomIndex] << " "; // if it is not null, we print it...
            lotteryPool[randomIndex] == 0;           // then null it to make sure it isn't used again.
        }
    }
return 0;
}

In my experience the rand() function isn't really random. If you keep repeating the program you will most likely see the same numbers. If you are saying that when iterating through six numbers the the random numbers are repeating then just call an if statement that gets a new random number if it is repeated.