Calling from separate part of program

Hi. I'm working on a very code (but I'm very new to this).
For a specific .cc file I am trying to verify that the program is updating specific variables by inserting a cout << and cin.get();
The information I want to display is being calculated in a different part of the program which is in an entirely different directory. For example, I am writing the code in heatconduction/hc.cc and the calculated variables are found in grid/grid.cc.

The format for the variables is something like:
face[f].normal
cell[c].centroid
Where f and c are just the index for a number in a loop.

I need to call these variables from grid/grid.cc in my section of the code but I can't figure out a working syntax.

cout << "Face Normal = "<<grid[gid].face[f].normal<<endl;

This was an attempt I made but when I compile it doesn't recognize the f index identifier.

Additionally I was given a hint that there are other parts of the heat conduction directory that contain the [f] and [c] indices, hinting that I should be able to use that to identify the variables.

Any help is greatly appreciated!
thank you!
JM COOPER
If you want to use code from different files, you need to #include the file where that code exists.
@ OP: You accomplish what ResidentBiscuit is talking about by including the headers where the variables are declared. This is functionally the same as making any other forward declaration. The compiler will know that the definition of what ever variable is going to be made some where else, and it will know to look for it later. As for the directories, neither C or C++ are interpreted languages so after you compile the binary your source code and the files that contain it cease to matter.
Last edited on
Let me explain further:

Both files are in a larger directory, src_3s.
In grid/grid.cc, it calls a function void grid::areas_volumes.
This function does the calculations that generate
face[f].normal
cell[c].centroid
etc