Set() from one class and Get() from another

Dear all, I have some experience in c++; but in involved OOP, I am relatively inexperienced. I am trying to do the following:
I have two classes: A and B. In A, carry out some calculations and want to use them in B. It would be helpful if I could use Set/Get methods. For this, I wrote an intermediate class C.

Header (.h)
class C
{
     public:
     C();
    ~C();

void SetSomething(int n);
     int  GetSomething();

int thing;
};

Source(.cxx)
C::C()
{
    thing = -999;
}
C::~C()
{
}
void SetSomething(int n)
{
   thing = n;
}
int GetSomething()
{
   return thing;
}

I can set the number from class A. First, I instantiate an object oA of C; and then I can set a number:
C *oA = new C();
oA->SetSomething(3);

But when I am trying to retrieve the number from class B, the following returns the default value initialized in the constructor. I am always getting N = -999.

C *oB = new C();
int N = oB->GetSomething(3);

I can vaguely understand this. When I am instantiating oB in class B, that time "thing" is getting overwritten with -999. Can anyone please suggest any technique so that this problem can be avoided? If it is not possible with Set/Get methods, what are the other possibilities?

Any help or hint is appreciated,
-regards
Kolahal

*** I am working in Scientific Linux.
Each time you call the new C() you create a new object. If you want to set and get the same value then you have to make sure that you call the set and get functions on the same object.
I don't really understand what you really want.

Could you explain more about your class A and B, or their some source?

I can't imagine what's relation between A,B and C.

I can see only object oA and oB created from C.

Is this what you want to do?
#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

class A{
public :
    static int val;
    static void setVal(int x){ val = x; }
    int getVal(){ return val; }
};
int A::val = 0;

class B{
    public :