Question on Multidimensional Arrays

Hello All,

I am in my first programming class, so I am a noob at this. I wouldn't say I struggle with the material, but when I reach the limitations of my knowledge it really puts the breaks on my ability to debug and edit my code so it will compile and run.

I am working on a lab for my comp class, and I chose to create a multidimensional array for it although my professor told me I did not need to.

I am reaching out to see if the community can help guide me through this error I keep getting.

I get the error
error C2664: 'void display_race_results(float [],float [])' : cannot convert argument 1 from 'float [8][8]' to 'float []' (on line #)92

And as much as I dislike posting code, the error occurs in this portion when I call the function in line 92:

display_race_results(chevy[][SIZE], ford[][SIZE]);

the function is written like this:

void display_race_results(float chevy[][SIZE], float ford[][SIZE])
{
int race_counter = 1;
float diff = 0.0f;

cout << endl;
cout << "RACE #: TEAM CHEVY: TEAM FORD: WINNER:" << endl;

for (int i = 0; i < NUMBER_OF_CARS; i++)
{
for (int c = 0; c < SIZE; c++)
{
if (chevy[i][c] < ford[i][c]) //means that chevy won
{
diff = ford[i][c] - chevy[i][c];

cout << endl;

cout << " " << race_counter << " " << chevy[i][c] << " sec " << ford[i][c] << " sec CHEVY WINS!";

race_counter++;

}
else if (chevy[i][c] > ford[i][c]) //means that ford won
{

diff = chevy[i][c] - ford[i][c];

cout << endl;

cout << " " << race_counter << " " << chevy[i][c] << " sec " << ford[i][c] << " sec FORD WINS!";

race_counter++;
}
}
}
}

(I apologize if this looks like a huge mess)

the arrays are defined by global variables:

const int SIZE = 8;
const int NUMBER_OF_CARS = 8;

float chevy[NUMBER_OF_CARS][SIZE] = { { 0.0f } };
float ford[NUMBER_OF_CARS][SIZE] = { { 0.0f } };

-I guess I do not understand the context for the error, because I was able to get everything to work 100% with the array
chevy[SIZE] = 0;