what can i make with c++

I know that you can make games and windows apps (heavy things ... which needs years and years of learning)
but i want to know if i can make something in a short term so i feel that I'm actually doing something

you can learn java and android to develop android apps
you can learn c# and make windows phone apps

but what other things you can make with c++(which needs about year or two of learning) ?

Last edited on
I made a calculator for a game I play online.
can you tell me more about this ?
Yes. What would you like to know?
do you mean a console calculator or a calculator which was part of the game ?
how many time you take to make it (since you start learning c++)?
Last edited on
A console calculator. I started learning C++ about one year ago, and I started working on the program probably sometime in February or March. I've 'finished' the program more than once, so I don't exactly know how long I've spent on it, but I'd guess a few months of working on it one or two hours a day a few times a week.
Maybe I need something more advanced it's almost six months and all i make is console programs :(
I've finished a book about c++ (object-oriented programming by Robert Lafore)
But don't know what to do next ?
Last edited on
@ohefny whats the best console you have already programmed?
@Lorence30
It was a program that i used files with to store data
it's like a store organizer that able you to monitor your goods (it was laptops)
Add Device - Edit Price
- show info about specific device(and how many items of this device is exist in the store)
- show all devices in store
- Print a bill

and it has another part which make user search for laptops and filter the results
- By Price (3000-5000 L.E)
- BY Brand (HP-DELL-...)
- By Cpu speed

- compare between two devices or show more details about one device