TurnBasedGame

Hi, Im new to the forms and C++. I need help starting a turn based battle (similar to pokemon) app. How could i make this and make it cross platform. Also is it possible to make it access gps and allow other devices with the same app communicate with each other?
I have done things on the command line but i never made anything with images so i dont even know where to start for this app.
Can you guys help me.
I recommend first reading this book before you start programming the game.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/1435457420/ref=nosim/gamednetllc-21
I agree but I don't have money for a book.

Should I just pick a cross platform GUI and stick with that, but even then I'm not even sure how to but a GUI with my code.
Please don't double post: http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/general/142302/

If you're new to C++ you have a LOT to learn before you can begin to tackle the kind of app you're describing. I would start with the tutorials here and get the basics down.
I agree with cnoeval.
Also the site i gave you has great books related to C++.
I recommend both the books and the tutorial on this site.
ya sorry about the repost, i didn't know which was a better place to post.

And that site is great, thnx

but what i don't know is would i be wasting my time learning how to make a game (which i can already make a text based game) with a GUI and find out i cant make it a cross platform app or do what i want with it?
Last edited on