Polymorphism

Hey guys i used polymorphism and Inheritance but still i van not find any i=usage except that it avoids code duplication .... what else could be the use of polymorphism and inheritance plz explain me ..... i'll be thankfull to you....
plz help.....

I'm no expert so it'd be good to get a second opinion, but I think a lot of these higher level concepts exist just to avoid code duplication. By that, I mean that polymorphism and inheritance is never necessary. One could always achieve the same thing by writing a large block of simpler code.

Functions are a great example of the same principle. Let's say you have a need to select the greater of two numbers:

int selectgreater(int a, int b)
{
if( a>b )
{
return a;
}
else
{
return b;
}
}

You could write that in your code every time you wanted to use it, but we use functions to avoid unnecessary duplication of the code.
It's not about code duplication, it's about not needing to know the actual type of an object to have it do what you want.
It's not about code duplication, it's about not needing to know the actual type of an object to have it do what you want.

Not OP, but I'm not sure I get this and I want to understand. By creating an object of a certain derived class, don't you already know which parent classes it belongs to?
void f(Base &b)
{
}
Do you know the actual type of "b"? Is it MyDerived? Is it TheirDerived? It doesn't matter.
Ah, I see what you mean. Thanks for the example.
LB plz give me a clear answer .... im not getting it .....
For example let there be Person class and there is a function which reads data from stream:
Person read_person(std::istream& in)
{
    Person p;
    in >> p.name >> p.surname >> p.age;
    return p;
}
It takes a reference to istream. One example of istream object is std::cin: standard input.
There is ifstream class, which is derived from istream. Thanks to inheritance we can do following:
Person x, y;
x = read_person(std::cin); //read data from console