Are 'if' statements the backbone of all games?

This is a non-code question but I still feel that it is a beginner question and worth asking/answering.

Are if/switch statements the backbone of games written in c++?
What I mean is, does programming a game rely mostly on things like, if (some object) collides with (some other object) then (code that runs?) or:

if(mouse or keyboard event) then (object does this) etc.
A thorough answer would be very appreciated as I want to be able to make my own game but I still am lost as to good practices or how to go about making decisions in games.

Thank you in advance :)

I've been programming a game for the past several months in C++ using SDL. I'm building the game from the ground up, which includes all the movement, collision, and other basic functions that come pre-packaged in already written game engines. I'm a very novice programmer, but a lot of my code consists of if statements. I'm not sure if there is a good way of getting around it. That being said, I've been told by indie game devs not to worry about optimization until it's really necessary, especially if you're creating a simple game (mine is a 2D 16-bitish platformer). So far I haven't hit a performance wall in my program, and I don't really expect to.
It's hard to write any program without using if statements.
That said, if statements can be misused.

What I commonly see are long strings of if statements, where a loop and a single if statement operating on a table would have accomplished the same thing. It not so much a matter of efficiency as it is readability and maintainability of the code. Which is easier to understand and maintain? A string of if statements spanning 100 lines of code? Or a simple loop and if statement testing a table that takes perhaps 10 lines of code?
What I mean is, does programming a game rely mostly on things like, if (some object) collides with (some other object) then (code that runs?) or: