Random Number Loop,

I have almost completed what I think is what I want from the program, except one of the loops first prints out a strange number and the rest of that loop seems to print fine. The problem loop seems to be the 'i' loop, but its first run returns the value 135991312. The program is supposed to print a list of random numbers. The first number is from 1-100. The second is 1-105, third from 1-110 etc. When a number returned is 101 or more, the loop ends. Because I am fairly new at C++ I haven't properly used functions, loops etc. properly so let me know if I can simplify the code :P

Any ideas?

#include <conio.h>
#include <stdio.h>
#include <windows.h>
#include <time.h>
/* Author hotchoc26 */

int main()
{
system("cls");
srand(time(0));
printf("Welcome! Press any key to begin.");
getchar();	

int iii, ii, i, num=2, pos, dropPos=0, wkPos, wk_Pos, w;

for (ii = 1; ii == 1; ii++)
{
printf("\nWeek 1: %1d", 1 + (rand() % 100));

if (ii % 5 == 0) 
		{
			printf("\n");
		} 
} 

printf("\n");

for (i = 0; i <= 100; i++)
	{	
	printf("\nWeek %d: %1d", num, pos);
	i = 1 + (rand() % 110);
		if (i % 1 == 0) 
		{
			printf("\n");
			num = num+1;				
		}
	pos = i;
	}

for (dropPos = 0; dropPos <= 0; dropPos++) 
	{

printf("\nThe song dropped out at position %1d", 101 + (rand() % 100));

if (dropPos % 1 == 0) 
		{
			printf("\n");
		} 
	} 

return 0;
}	
Last edited on
Seems you didn't initialize pos when you declared it, so the compiler is outputting the garabage stored in that location. Happens to all of us. :D It works after because you then assign it the value of i in the first iteration of the loop.
for (ii = 1; ii == 1; ii++)
This loop will execute exactly once, so there's no point to having the loop. You could just set ii=1 and include the code within the loop.

Lines 32 & 46: Since 1 evenly divides all numbers, X%1 is always zero so you don't need the "if" statements.