comprehension problem using c string arrays

Hello everybody,

I'm new in c++ and don't know much about using pointers.
What I actually know is how to declare a pointer like this:
  char var = 'a';
  char* ptr;
  ptr = &var;
cout << *ptr; // --> a
cout << ptr; // --> address of var a (like 0x0000) 

I also understand that the declaration and initialization of ptr can be done in one step:
char var = 'a';
char* ptr = &var;
cout << *ptr; // --> a
cout << ptr; // --> address of var a (like 0x0000) 

What I don't understand is the following:

char* ptr[] = {"Hello", "World"};

Why is it possible to get the string "Hello" by calling it via:
ptr[0]
??
I thought that typing a pointer without "*" only means to work with the address of the pointing variable/array --> so why is ptr[0] not the address of the array with the string "Hello", but instead it is the string itsself (what should be *ptr[0] or am I wrong??)...
This is confusing me much and I hope someone can help me with that...

Greetings
If you run your first example you will notice that the result is not what you expect. The output stream operator for char* is a bit special. It will not print the address but instead it will assume that the pointer points to the first character in a C string and print the whole string.
What I simply don't understand is why I don't have to initialize the pointer to an array with the address of the array like this:
char var[] = {'a', 'b', 'c'};
char* ptr = &var;    // <--- won't work, but I don't understand why not...

// --- instead, I have to initialize it with the real array:
char* ptr = var;

How is that possible? How does the pointer know where to point? Why doesn't point the pointer in this example to the unreal address 'a' ?
Last edited on
in the case of arrays when you say 'var', this IS the address of the array. i.e. the memory location of the first element.
Last edited on