Dereferencing string pointers

First post !!!

Hi,

I'm new to c++ but not in the programming world so I put my question in the beginners forum as a guess.

My question is about a piece of code for a Windows registry wrapper I'm writing but mostly related to vc++ behavior about dereferencing string pointers.
In the piece of code below, I would like to know what are the underlying specifications for the total of bytes read in a dereferenciation.
For example if lpData is a LPWSTR pointer (WCHAR) and I use *(lpData + dwDataSize) then it reads 2 bytes but the same with *(unsigned*)(lpData + dwDataSize) reads 4 bytes.

1) What should I know about it
2) Is it a behavior I can trust to be the same all the time

BOOL HlpRegSetValueSzW(HKEY PredefinedKey, LPCWSTR lpSubKey, LPCWSTR lpValueName, LPCWSTR lpData, DWORD dwType)
{
	HKEY hKey = NULL;
	DWORD dwDataSize = 0;                                 // very important initialization = 0

// Check if dwType is a supported string value types and while we're at it, let's compute the byte size
	// including the string null terminator(s) of lpData that is needed for the cbData parameter of RegSetValueEx

if ((dwType == REG_SZ) || (dwType == REG_EXPAND_SZ))  // one null-char terminator strings
	{
		while (*(lpData + dwDataSize))                    // read 2 bytes (if 0 then we've found the null char)
		{
			dwDataSize++;                                 // at loop exit dwDataSize holds the string length
		}
		dwDataSize = (dwDataSize + 1) * sizeof(WCHAR);    // add 1 null-char and multiply by 2 for bytes count
	}
	else if (dwType == REG_MULTI_SZ)                      // two null-chars terminator strings
	{
		while (*(unsigned*)(lpData + dwDataSize))         // read 4 bytes (if 0 then we've found the 2 null chars)
		{
			dwDataSize++;
		}
		dwDataSize = (dwDataSize + 2) * sizeof(WCHAR);    // add 2 null-chars and multiply by 2 for bytes count
	}
	else
	{
		return FALSE;
	}