Constructor to Receive Any Primitive Type

I'm trying to create a constructor that can receive any primitive type of int, double, or float, and it will convert these to an int. I am not sure if there is a particular syntax for it, or if I have to do it manually.
Have you looked at templates?
If it's going to simply cast the values to int why not simply have one constructor that takes an integer? You could still pass floats and doubles to it and their values would be converted to an int automatically.
I'm an absolute beginner and in one of my first programming classes that is in C++ and having to design a class was my first assignment. I'm not sure what you mean. Where are these templates that I can look at?
I'm trying to create a constructor that can receive any primitive type of int, double, or float, and it will convert these to an int.
class foo
{
    public:
    foo(int i) {};
};

int main()
{
    foo x(5); //Hello int
    foo y(3.14); //Hello double
    foo z(2.71f); //Hello float
}
Last edited on
I don't want to simply just convert the double or float to an int. I also need to use what is after the decimal point. For example, my constructor takes in two primitive types, the first number represents feet, and the second represents inches.

I would convert the double or float to an int so that I would get feet and inches left. So if I entered in 3.25, I would get 3 feet and 3 inches.
Last edited on
You could try simply overloading the constructor in MiiNiPaa's example; just write one for each type.
So you want something like:
class foo
{
public:
    foo(int feet, int inches) {/*do something*/};
    foo(double feet_) //Captures floats too
    {
        int feet = static_cast<int>(feet_);
        int inches = static_cast<int>((feet_ - feet) * 12);
    }
};
I'm not sure, especially since that code looks more advanced that what I am initially learning, and I don't understand a lot of the syntax being used there.