Upper Case to Lower case Letters Using Strings

Hey everyone! This is my first time on this site and I have seeked out aid in my CS 171 class as I am very confused and can't seem to find any help in the textbook, online, or class notes for this problem.

The idea is to use only use strings, I will post what I got below directly from the page, but I can't see to find the one bit of code that would convert the ch into an upper case.

"Because the purpose of this assignment is to gain experience with the specified objects and methods, you are to do each of these problems as described and not search for alternative approaches (no if statements, character arrays, apstrings, or atoi).

The char and int types allow mixed-mode arithmetic and assignment. For instance,the following code segment produces the letter 'e' as output:
char ch = 'a';
ch = ch + 4 ;
cout << ch << endl ;
Using such arithmetic, write a segment of C++ code that will convert a lower-case letter to upper case. That is, if ch has the value 'f', it will be changed to 'F'. You may assume the value of ch is a lower-case letter."

Each character has a 1 byte value associated with it which is defined by ASCII. For example, 'a' is 97. C++ allows you to refer to the character by its integer value. For example, executing the following would print a 'b'.

std::cout << (char)('a' + 1);

The exact encoding of ASCII characters can be easily found online.
http://www.asciitable.com/

Noting this, how would you convert an uppercase 'A' to a lower case 'a'?
Last edited on
ASCII:
a = 97
A = 65
a - A = 32

There, lowerCase - 32 = UpperCase UpperCase + 32 = lowerCase
Last edited on
Thank you so much to the both of you for submitting so quickly! I am going back to this problem right now to try and figure it out, I'll be sure to post if I got it soon for you all to know how I did.
Hey so I am stuck again sadly.